Positive Affirmations Got Me Through Tough Mudder

1233266_10153313710995637_1547073916_o

Two and half years ago some friends convinced me to join them in the Tough Mudder Run. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this event, it is a 19km military style obstacle course designed to test your mental and physical strength and endurance.  I found out exactly what the Tough Mudder Run was only AFTER I had committed and, I have to say that some of the events were intimidating to say the least- particularly those events which involved getting hit by a low voltage of electrical current.  My initial reaction was to back out and leave my group high and dry, with all my faculties still in place.  Unfortunately, this was not an option so I went to the boot camp style work outs we had started attending to get ready for Tough Mudder, while inside self doubt was eroding any chances I had of completing the event and gaining any value out of the process.  A few weeks after I found out how grueling this run was, I came across a Facebook meme that read “She believed she could, so she did!”, I can’t say why that particular phrase resonated with me but it did- so much so it became the wallpaper on my phone.  Each time I looked on my phone (hundreds of times during the day to be sure) I was greeted with the phrase “She believed she could, so she did” after a while each time I saw it I would feel elevated, empowered even.  As theTough Mudder Run date approached I believed that I could complete the obstacles put in front of me- yes, even the ones involving mild electrocution and in the end I did (Did I also mention I was the oldest woman in our group?) .  When I adopted this positive mental attitude and supported it with a positive affirmation- “She believed she could, so she did!” success was all but inevitable.

There are many reasons why individuals become addicted to alcohol and drugs, everyone has their own unique and individual story; what most, if not all of these people have in common however is low self esteem or self worth.  Positive affirmations are critical for successful recovery, they help to mute the little negative voice which tells them they don’t deserve a productive healthy life and, helps develop new thought and behaviour patterns.

We have provided the top 10 most popular affirmations for addiction and alcohol recovery;

  1. Every day, in every way, I am getting better.
  2. I can and I will.
  3. I will be a better me.
  4. I am worthy of great things.
  5. I like the person I’m becoming.
  6. All of my problems have a solution.
  7. I press on because I believe in my path.
  8. The past has no power over me anymore.
  9. I have many strengths.
  10. I am in charge of my life story.

Now that you have these affirmations what do you do with them?  How do you make them work?  The key is constant repetition, over and over again, every day and numerous times a day.  Make it your goal to say them to yourself in the mirror when you wake up in the morning and right before you go to sleep.  Write down your affirmations and post them where you can see them throughout your day, make them your wallpaper or, write them on post it notes and strategically placing them throughout your home or work will ensure you will see them and read them often.  Eventually, after some time you will begin to internalize these sayings, and will truly believe yourself to be a good and worthy person.

Life presents us with many challenges and for someone in recovery these challenges grow exponentially, success is anchored in a positive attitude and belief in your own self worth.

Be Well

Oasis Movement

 

Sources:

www.soberlink.com/10-self-affirmations-for-recovery/

Leave a Reply

